OS and iOS Internals - About the Book
Appendix A (Beat the System) is online here.

The following is the complete table of contents for the book.

Chapter 1: Darwinism -The Evolution of OS X

Chapter 2: E Pluribus Unum: Architecture of OS X and iOS

Chapter 3: On the Shoulders of Giants - OS X and iOS Technologies

Chapter 4: Parts of the Process: Mach-O, Process and Thread Internals

Chapter 5: Non Sequitur - Process Tracing and Debugging

Chapter 6: Alone in the Dark: The Boot Process-EFI and iBoot

Chapter 7: Alpha and Omega : LaunchD and User Mode Boot

Chapter 8: From the Cradle to the Grave - Kernel Boot and Panics

Chapter 9: Some Assembly Required: Kernel Architectures

Chapter 10: The Medium is the Message – Mach Primitives

Chapter 11: Tempus Fugit - Mach Scheduling

Chapter 12: Commit to Memory - Mach Virtual Memory

Chapter 13: BS"D - The BSD Layer

Chapter 14: Something Old, Something New: Advanced BSD Aspects

Chapter 15: Fee, FI-FO, File – File Systems and the VFS

Chapter 16: To B(-Tree) or not to Be: HFS+

  • VFS and Kernel Integration
  • Summary
  • References and Further Reading
  • Chapter 17: Adhere to Protocol: The Networking Stack

    Chapter 18: Modu(lu)s Operandi - Kernel Extensions

    Chapter 19: Driving Force - I/O Kit

    Appendix A: Beat the System

    Appendix B: Welcome to the Machine

    Forum About the Book Notes News Code Samples Downloads Resources Get the book from Amazon dock